top of page
  • Sheila E Sullivan

Taco Tuseday

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

Today was another Basic Training Academy. I learned about the schools we serve and the grades. We also went over the Do's and Didn't when you're in a service year uniform. I learned about the poverty and race of schools how it could be segregated. The article we read called "Public Education in Buffalo and the Region." It was a fascinating read. This is what I wrote for my reaction to the article when we were discussing it, "I'm not surprised by the facts- Philadelphia is the same way. But I also know that I have a very different perspective because I went to private school, I did do a year of public school, but that didn't work out and didn't remember it well.  When Hannah pointed out that money is a problem for students- I know that from my Education class I took in school that one person can change you and make you stick out the schooling.  It's all about positive schooling and development.  I know one of my family friends was grew up in the city where it was poor and now in the suburbs."

The article is included in this post. I also learned about Charter Schools history. I learned about Buffalo and how long it has been. Then we talked about grey scenarios of service people are put in. Then we met with our buddies- someone who we check in with and talk anything about. The funny story was the person that I first connected with on Service Slack. But we talked about different topics than we did on Slack.


Today I made beef taco meat, and Lexi made shrimp. It was delicious. Yes, I tried shrimp as a taco, and it was yummy!! I even heated the soft taco shells. It was so delicious. Lexi cooks good shrimp! I did channel my inner Aunt Carol by making a mess of the stove.






12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May 4-19

I floated around and was a lead teacher for the closing out of the school year. I had a good year with the kids. Camp starts on the 30,...

April 26-28 and May 1-3

This and last week, I have been floating around. Helping where I can. I have learned that some children like to try other classmates'...

Comments


bottom of page