top of page
  • Sheila E Sullivan

No Monday blues

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

Today was the first day of the basic training academy. It was good. At first, it was really boring- like I was going to fall asleep at my desk. At like the 10:15-10:30 somewhere around, then we had a break, I forget when. My roommates and I were dying of laughter because of how boring it was, how we were tired, wanting to sleep at our desks or beds. Kiahesha, of my roommates, took nitro coffee shots, only two just straight black coffee. That was funny. Then we had to go back to BTA and sit through more. It was not that bad after the first break and lunch. We learned about the Idealist Handbook. Some of the values. Got to know the managers and those sorts of people. Every time we had to go back to our computers for BTA- Lexy said, “Let's meet back in the kitchen for talking and our break.” I learned that when applying to food benefits or stamps or whatever you want to call them- with Service Buffalo, at least you got to put zero for money. So I had to make a new application with all zeros. Some of the stuff I learned was a review from when I went on a visitation day— that City Year offered. But it also was reminding me of what college education professors taught me like Icebreakers. Lexi tried to send smoke signals when she was cooking dinner for herself. There was an actual fire, according to Lexy and Kiahesha. I didn't see it. I just saw the smoke. Some of the SeriveYear people said that you have to be very resilient- all I could think was my mother telling me I am very resilient. Mr. Shank telling me to get off my ass and get to work in college. That still runs through my mind when I am debating if I should be doing something productive. Service year members like quotes- thank goodness I have four different collections on different media.


My roommates are so funny wheater it's questioning what someone is doing or saying, or we are getting a lesson from Lexi- like today we did about pasta and her red pepper sauce. Or if we are talking about this past weekend...

Kiahesha, Morgan, and Lexi- if your sitting in our living area and want company text me or bellow for me- I am probably bored, and I also want to be with people. My college roommate even said to me that I don't get out a lot- so all of you can have fun getting me out of my room cuz I don't have school work. I will also tell if I am busy- but if it's my parents, I sometimes can hang up on them once they hear your voices. I had Bob Evans Mac and Cheese and the last chicken tender from Snyder. Both mixed very well. Tomorrow I am making taco meat, and we have Taco Tuesday- we are thinking of mixing the meats up every Taco Tuesday.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May 4-19

I floated around and was a lead teacher for the closing out of the school year. I had a good year with the kids. Camp starts on the 30,...

April 26-28 and May 1-3

This and last week, I have been floating around. Helping where I can. I have learned that some children like to try other classmates'...

Comments


bottom of page